So… those of you who have been following my music career on here for the last 3 years and 4 months may remember that my initial goal was to be able to write songs for other people.

Sure, writing songs for myself is fun but, truth be told, I don’t really like performing in front of others all that much.  Ironic since I graduated with a theater degree, but over the last few years I’ve found that I get more joy from seeing other people perform my stuff than if I do it. Only problem is, for most of my time out here I haven’t been able to connect with anyone who wanted to pay me to write songs for them.

That is, of course, until 2 weeks ago…

Long story short: I was sitting at home looking up jobs to help bring in more income (my current job doesn’t pay all that much) when I received a call from a person whom I had worked with on a project early last year. This person told me that a friend of hers – a well-known comedian – was looking to hire a new song writer to help him create parody songs for his radio show. Again, those who read this site know… well, heck, I did the Lil’ Wayne “A Milli” parody about Obama, so it’s pretty much what I’m known for doing!

After I said “Yes,” I sent this person a link the comedian could go to to see some of my previous parodies in music video form. The comedian got in touch with me, said he LOVED my work (especially the “Teach Me How to Snuggie” video), and sent me the name of a test song he wanted me to parody, as well as the subject matter.  This was around 3 PM, and he wanted me to have it written and sent to him that same day.  I sat around for 4 hours watching TV, ate some dinner, and wrote the song up in about an hour, then sent it to him…

…and he LOVED it.

He sent me another song/idea to type up and, despite having to go to work that day, managed to type up another song for him that same day (during my work time, too).  He loved that one as well, and we got to meet up later that weekend to record it. By this point I was just happy that somebody liked my work enough to want to pay me for it, especially with this particular comedian, who I had seen on TV a few times back in the day (on BET’s “Comicview”).

Little did I know just how big of a deal writing for this guy would actually be…

After we recorded, he said he had to go get some sleep so he could get up at 2 A.M. the next morning for his radio show.  I didn’t actually know what his radio show was (I stupidly hadn’t asked him), and when he told me the name of the show, my mind was BLOWN.

I won’t give up too many details on here (feel free to ask me in person), but he’s the co-host of a NATIONALLY-BROADCASTED MORNING SHOW that’s VERY well-known.  And, as it turns out, the songs I’m writing for him are songs that, after he records them, are being played on the show for EVERYONE to hear!!

Anyway… so I just sent off the contract yesterday, and it’s official: I am now a professional songwriter for a nationally-broadcasted morning show.  The pay I get monthly for the gig is great for a starting writer, and definitely enough for me to get my own apartment (should I decide to do so) and, at some point, a car.  More important than the money, though, is the fact that I can put this gig on my professional resume, which should allow me to open even MORE doors and get more writing gigs.

My ultimate goal is to be able to be writing for enough people to stay home full-time and do it.  Actually, I could do that right now, but I still have my part-time job which I’ll be keeping until I’m able to replace the time I’d be working there with more writing gigs.

At the end of the day, though, I’m glad this opportunity came my way. I feel like I’ve been working hard for YEARS now, and between writing all my songs, creating videos and working for others, it’s nice to see that it will finally be paying off.  This is the stuff that can happen when you take the time out to focus on your dreams. Even if you don’t think anyone is watching you, always be in the process of doing the thing you want to do most – that way, when an opportunity comes along, you have a resume of stuff you can show to others that prove why you deserve what’s being offered to you!

-A.P.T.

