Well, well, well… it seems in my rush to get equipment to make beats with, I forgot a few things…

So, I got a new laptop prior to taking my mini-hiatus from life (i.e. I’m participating in a clinical trial).  I figured I could buy a notebook laptop for cheap, download the FL Studio program on it, and make beats galore during my downtime in the hospital.

So far, I’ve been able to start work on 4 really hot-sounding beats. Unfortunately, I’ve run into a bit of a problem…

Ya see, I forgot to read the part of the FL Studio package that says in order for it to run properly, the computer should have a processor size of at least 2 GHz or more. And what exactly is MY laptop’s processing speed? Drum roll please….

1.33 GHz. 😦

What does this mean? It means that, while I am able to make beats on it, they (a) can’t have too many layers of sound, (b) crackles during playback, and (c) has a break-up in sound when I export the beats out.

Sigh… I knew I shoulda gotten a “real” laptop instead of a notebook, and I didn’t even think about looking at how much processor speed I would need.

Oh well… when I get out of here I’m going to sell this notebook on Craig’s List or eBay, get some of my money back, and use it towards getting myself a REAL laptop. One with enough processing speed to allow me to make some REALLY good beats.  (I may also look into getting a sound card upgrade for this laptop, if it’s possible.  I mean, aside from the processing issue, it’s a pretty decent laptop.)

I also need to get some new headphones.  The ones I have now are doing that thing where one of the sides (the right one) doesn’t want to work half the time.  Plus, I really, REALLY want to get some Beats by Dr. Dre headphones, which I should have enough money for by the time I leave here.

-A.P.T.

