Hey peeps:

Soooo, it’s been a while since I’ve been on here, mostly ’cause I’ve been moving.  I finally got my own spot up in L.A. L.A. land (near Hollyweird) and am just now starting to record some new music.

I know people are probably wondering if I’ve been working on an album or something of that nature.  The answer is YES, I have been writing songs for a very specific type of album, and have recorded the first song for it.

However, I’ve been thinking lately that making albums is really a time-waster.  In this day and age, albums as a whole are not selling anywhere near as much as the most popular single.

For example: Britney Spears’ latest album, “Femme Fatale,” which should have been a guaranteed seller (and is one of the best albums I’ve heard in a while – no, seriously!), debut with only 276,000 copies sold in its first week – a far cry from the 1.3 million first week seller she was able to release 11 years ago.

However, her single for “Hold It Against Me” debut with over 400,000 copies in its first week, and has so far sold over 1.2 million copies in the U.S. alone.

What does this mean? It means FOCUSING ON MAKING A GANG OF ALBUMS IN THIS DAY AND AGE IS A TIME-WASTER, ESPECIALLY IF YOU’RE TRYING TO EARN MONEY.

I went to a music conference a few years ago, and Murder Inc. boss Irv Gotti was one of the speakers.  Someone asked him what the key was to being a successful artist, and his answer was simple (and I’m hella-paraphrasing): “All you have to do is concentrate on making a hit.  If you can get ONE hit, you can get your foot in the door.”

So that’s what I’ve been doing: I’ve been writing songs and writing songs, but only recording the things I feel have the potential to be hit records.

And how does a record become a hit? Proper launch, proper advertising, getting the song played in the right places at the right time, and a video of some kind (and, in this day and age, it doesn’t even have to be a GOOD video – see Rebecca Black’s “Friday” to get what I’m talking about).

For me, I don’t want to just put out these songs without having a proper launch of some kind.  For example, the song I’m recording right now is guaranteed to be a hit, but will be even MORE of a hit if I (a) launch it on the right day, and (b) have a decent enough video for it that makes people want to pass it along.  I don’t want to just make a video where I’m standing in front of a wall or sitting down in a studio because those videos aren’t entertaining enough to make people want to pass them along. (Granted, I did this for the “Obama Milli Remix” video, but even with that one I mixed in pictures and had on different outfits. Gotta switch it up ’cause people have short attention spans!)

Anyway… so I’ve already released one of the singles – “Your Mama Is So Ugly” – but haven’t sent it out to radio or anything yet.  That will be the next phase of the plan… but first, I’m going to release the NEW song I’ve been working on for about a week now. It’s almost finished being recorded, at which point I’ll take the suggestion of one of my friends and find a way to forward it to Big Boi and other radio station personalities.  The song is a parody of a pretty popular song, and – after checking YouTube several times – it’s an idea that hasn’t been done for this particular song yet, which I’m REAL happy about!

That’s it for now – more new music comin’ soon, y’all!

-A.P.T.

