Today’s insight is for the video/song, “Ooh, I’m a Model” (featuring Genellyn).

To see the “Model Shoot” version of the video, click the video above!

Note: I have been advised that the “2 HOT 4 YOUTUBE” version of the video may be a lil’ TOO racy.  If u wanna see it, hit me up and I’ll send u the link!

Available on iTunes (click HERE) and Amazon (click HERE)!

INSIGHT INTO A SONG:

Earlier this year, I had gone to several fashion shows here in L.A. as a cameraman assistant.  While attending, I noticed that the majority of songs used by the fashion creators for their models to walk to, while certainly entertaining and mood-fitting, had one smaaaaall thing missing from them:

They weren’t specifically catered to a fashion show!

What I mean is, none of the songs were necessarily about fashion, or modeling, or any of that – they were just popular songs with a good beat to show off fashion to.  This isn’t actually a BAD thing, but I remember back in the day (geez, I’m sounding old now) when they had songs that specifically catered to a fashion show – i.e. “I’m Too Sexy” or that RuPaul song about “Working it girl” and “turning to the right.”

Since I’m in this music game to make money, I thought it would be a good idea to make a few songs that could be specifically used for fashion, whether it’s for a runway show, a fashion montage in a movie, or even a commercial for lingerie.

I also wanted to make songs that weren’t too wordy or complicated in terms of chorus subject matter.  Most songs used in professional fashion shows don’t actually have words in them (at least according to one of my friends who is all about fashion).  Still, I wanted to, at the very least, have a few words in there that could be repeated without getting too annoying, while at the same time sticking in people’s head.

The first song I made, “Work that Runway,” was nothing more than me saying that phrase throughout the song, spaced out every 4 bars or so.  After I made that song, I started working on a beat with a jazzy feel to it that, at the time, had no real structure to it in terms of what topic the song would cover.

Then, one day, out of the blue, I started saying the words “Ooh, I’m a model” over and over again in a girlie-type voice.  I thought it sounded pretty good for a chorus, but I had to give it the “sticking” test (i.e. the test I give to any song idea to make sure it’s good enough to stick in someone else’s head).  I didn’t write the chorus down, and went a good two days trying to forget it…

…and I couldn’t do it.  Test passed!

I was going to record the vocals for the “Ooh, I’m a model” phrase… but my guy friends were kinda creeped out at the idea of me trying to make a sexy-sounding song with my imitation girl voice.  The last thing they wanted was for me to have any kind of backlash once people found out the hot voice in their ear singing about models was actually a dude.  Point taken!

It just so happened, though, that about a day after I had finished up most of the beat, my friend Genellyn had stopped by the apartment to hang out with me and some of my other friends.  I asked her to say the phrase “Ooh, I’m a model” in a sexy-style voice, and she was actually able to make it sound the same way I had pictured it sounding in my head!

We went back to my room and… well, you can guess what happened next 😛

That’s right – I set up the microphone, pressed record, and had her do a few takes of saying “Ooh, I’m a model”. (Wait, what were YOU thinking happened??)

Once she finished, I edited the vocals and re-looped them throughout the entire song.  At this point, I was going to leave the song as-is, with the “Ooh, I’m a model” phrase being the sole vocals in the song.

However, after playing it for my same friends, as well as sending it to my brother, it became clear that 3 minutes and 47 seconds of nothing but the words “Ooh, I’m a model” became monotonous and boring.

To avoid the monotony, I figured it would be wise for me to throw in a 16-bar verse for the second part of the song, as well as a chant refrain for the 3rd part.  For my verse, I simply made it sound like I was talking to girls that are on the runway and expressing how hot they look while doing what they do.  Pretty simple, but I made sure it was effective enough to not sound like it was just placed in the song for no reason.

NOTE: I was actually going to place this song on my most recent album, “The Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back,” but the album already had 16 songs on it, not to mention a fashion-type track (“Work that Runway”).  I’m not working on an album at the moment, but I figured this song has the potential to get licensed and make me some money, so I put it out as its own single!

Some Interesting Song Tidbits:

1. The “Ooh, I’m a Model” chant used in the song was one of the early takes.  Genellyn recorded about 10 in all, and was patient during the recording process. (And if you’re reading this: thank you SO much for making the song sound good!)

2. I made this beat using the Mac’sGarage band program. Who says you need some fancy smancy beat-making program to create a hit?!?

3. At the end of the song, it fades out while I’m chanting the words “Let’s work…”  This is an homage to Sean “Diddy” Combs, who often says this in his songs.  Plus, I couldn’t really figure out what else to chant in that section.

INSIGHTS INTO THE “RACY” VIDEO VERSION

This video is sexy as all get-out, but I didn’t shoot it.  Nor was I on set for any of the shots taken.  In fact, these shots were filmedand partially used in another video made earlier this year!

See, a couple of my friends wanted to enter a contest being held by the rapper Common for his song “Make My Day.”  To do so, they held a casting call for girls to come out and shoot footage in front of a green screen, which they would later blend in with the green screen footage Common shot to be used by contestants to make their videos.

While they were shooting the footage for their video, though, I was away in Las Vegas spending time with family and friends, meaning I missed out on all the on-set happenings! (I was VERY jealous that I didn’t get to be on set with all the gorgeous models… but I WAS seeing someone in Vegas at the time, so it wasn’t a total loss.)

This was back in December.  Fast-forward to August, and I’ve decided to look for a publishing company to help me get some of my songs used in TV, film, radio and commercials.  I started collecting the videos I had made for some of the songs I want to sell, and realized that, in terms of my fashion-inspired songs, I didn’t have any visuals.

I remembered that I actually had all the footage my friends had taken for the Common video (they had used my computer to transfer all the footage, shot on a RED camera, into a usable format), and figured it would be the PERFECT stuff to use to show off just how well my song would correlate with scenes of sexiness and fashion.

I was going to just throw a bunch of the clips together, one girl shot at a time, with each one being a long shot of various girls in their various poses.  However, after I showed the almost-finished product to a couple of close friends, they suggested I take my time with the video and actually make it look good, especially since the unfinished version was already making a good impression.

So that’s what I did: I took my time with it, spent hours and hours looking for the right clips, making adjustments, re-editing, etc.  Finally, after about a week of consistent editing, the video was finally finished 10 days ahead of schedule.  Rather than put it out right away, I figured I’d sit on it for a week and give myself time to hype up the video.

However, there was ONE problem with the video…

INSIGHTS INTO THE “TAME” VIDEO VERSION

When I showed the final version to a few of my friends (one of which had also shown the almost-complete version to some of his business buds), there was a general consensus that the video was a bit “racy.”

Granted, there’s not any nudity in the video, or anything that would get it banned from YouTube.  However, the main goal of the video is to give an example of how the song could be used.  As much as I liked the video in its current form, I also realized the appeal of it wasn’t universal enough to where, if I were to put it on a DVD and send it out to a bunch of companies, they would all be comfortable with what they’d be seeing.  The last thing I need is a bunch of fashion magazine execs being uncomfortable watching my video while sitting together in a room with each other!

After taking a few days to think about it, I decided I’d do a re-re-edit of the video, replacing some of the racier parts with less racy footage.  Fortunately, one of my friends who had been at the shoot had tape of the “behind the scenes” footage (taken by my other friend, Adam, who’s now in Tennessee), which was great since I had wanted to use that footage in the first version but couldn’t find it.

I uploaded the new footage and got set to work on making some “small” edits.  At least that was the original plan; after seeing the new footage, though, I knew I’d actually be able to use a good portion of it to give the new video a different feel than the first one – one that would be able to tell a mini-story about the day of the shoot.

Aside from shots of the models being shot on camera, there are also shots of the behind-the-scenes crew, the models doing silly things, and other things that help give this version its own merit.  Those “small edits” ended up taking me a good two extra days to put together!

Now that both videos are finished, I have to say that these are, by far, two of the BEST-LOOKING VIDEOS out there.   Not just two of MY best-looking videos, but in general.  They both ooze sexiness, have hot girls in them, were shot using industry-standard equipment… and the best part is, all I had to do was edit the clips together!

Hopefully, these videos will be enough of an attention-grabber to get the song licensed, so that I can finally get some REAL doe coming in from this music stuff!

Some Interesting Video Tidbits:

1. One of the girls you’ll see frequently is a girl named Callie.  She’s the one in the silver swimsuit as well as the orange shirt with the golden bikini bottom.  The reason she’s in so many shots is not just because of her sexiness, and assets, but because she, out of all the girls in the video, brought the most energy to her shots.

2. Even though this is a fast-paced song, I wanted the majority of the shots to linger for a while.  The girls are quite attractive, and making the shots spread out longer makes the viewer’s interaction with them seem more personal, almost as if they are putting on a show specifically for ONE person.  Pretty darn effective.

3. During the second chorus part (the one before my verse), I was originally going to have the leg shot be one long continuous shot.  But then I started getting bored when I’d watch it.  So, I decided to break up the monotony in the first video by flashing in a few different colors, doing a mirrored angle, then ending it with her face shot; and in the second video, I just added in a few extra “behind the scenes” clips.

4. For the second version of the video, there were two types of clips used: behind the scenes and the shots of the girls in front of the “main” camera.  My friend Adam filmed the first set of shots – it was one of his last projects filmed before he went back to med school in Tennessee.  The second set of shots – the ones used in the actual Common video – were filmed by Charles Clemmons, a director out here in Cali who has filmed a whole lot of other videos.

5. As I was going through the behind the scenes footage, there was a part filmed where Adam asked the girls what they thought of the song they were shooting the video for, Common’s “Make My Day.”  All the girls gave great answers while, at the same time, not mentioning Common’s name.  So, I figured it would be a good idea to use that part in MY video, so people would think they were talking about how great MY song was.  Interestingly, one of the girls does say the song really “makes my day,” but I don’t think anyone aside from the people who were on set that day will know which song she was REALLY talking about J

6. It is interesting to note that both videos use most of the same footage, and yet one of them was considered to be “racy.”  The difference, I’ve learned, boils down to how long a shot lingers in certain areas, as well as what the shot implicates.

For example: in the “racy” video, there is a sweeping motion of a girl in the silver suit that happens to pan over her crotch area.  The area itself is completely covered via the bathing suit, but just the fact that it’s near that area makes the footage “racy.”  Take that part of the film pan out, and it’s no longer considered racy.

Another example: Both videos have footage of girls sucking suckers.  If I show footage of a girl putting a sucker into her mouth, then pulling it out, then putting it back in, it’s considered “racy” because it gives the implication that she’s showing us how she likes to suck on a guy’s “member.”  However, if the footage just shows the sucker going in her mouth without being pulled out, or the sucker being pulled out without going back in, it’s considered okay.

Yeah, I don’t get it either.

And that’s it! I hope you enjoy whatever version you decide to watch (hopefully both of them) and that you download the song today by clicking HERE!

-A.P.T.

