Last week, I decided to write Lil’ Wayne a letter.

For those not in the know, he’s currently spending time in jail.  It can often be hard to try and contact a celebrity when they’re free – they may not always respond right away, if at all – but since he’s currently residing in the same place everyday (until November), I figured I should take the opportunity to get in contact with him.

I won’t go into the specific wording of the letter (since I wrote it out and forgot how I wrote it), but I wrote him to thank him for creating the “A Milli” song and how, because of it, I was able to make a parody that allowed me to get noticed, move to Cali, and continue to work on my music.  I also told him about some of the other songs I’ve put on YouTube, and offered to make him a free beat.

Lo and behold: I check his website, www.WeezyThanxYou.com today and I was one of the people he gave a shout out to as part of his weekly shout-outs!  It simply said my name, along with the words: “Glad I Can Help.”

So… yay!

Now, on the one hand, I’m glad to know that he got my letter.  On the other hand, I don’t want this to be the last contact I have with him.  I really WOULD like to make a beat for him to use – for FREE (I figure I owe it to him) – and I’d even like to go so far as to be on a song with him.  My goal is to write him a few more times before he gets out so that he’ll recognize my name… or, at the very least, look me up on YouTube to see my vids, hear my songs, and be impressed enough to work with me!

Meanwhile, I now know that both Obama and Lil’ Wayne have heard my song via confirmation.  All I have to do now is meet up with the producer of the track (Mr. Bangladesh) to thank him and I’ll be good to go!

-A.P.T.

