I went to iTunes today to check the popularity stats of songs off my newest album, “Te Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back!”

Not surprisingly, one of the most popular songs from the album is “Obama Milli Mega Remix” feat. Tyga.  (BTW, I hate to sound surprised, but I’m still flabbergasted the song is still selling so well some two-plus years after being released.  Thanks, everybody!)

What IS surprising to me is what the second most popular song on the album is: a bonus track called “Bust My G.A.T.” that I actually recorded in 2004, back when the only recording equipment I had was a hand-held mic I got from Best Buy and a 4-track recorder.  In case you haven’t heard it, here’s the music video I shot for it back in 2008:

Aside from just that song, the other songs in the current top 5 of my sales include “The Betty White Song” and “Kate Gosselin is a B*tch.” Oh yeah, and “No U Aint (Lakers Remix Version).”

As of right now, I have 31 songs up on iTunes for people to choose from.  The last half of that number were posted up within the last 2 months, and they are actually helping me to make more money since people now have more options to choose from.

And frankly, I’m happy to hear that.  As of right now I don’t have a regular “job” to speak of, and the majority of the money I use to pay my bills each month actually comes from music sales.  It stands to reason, then, that the more songs I have up on iTunes, the more money I stand to make.

So, my goal at the moment is to have a minimum of 100 songs up on iTunes by next year’s end.  By the time I’m 30, I want a good majority of my money to be coming from my music.

Now, having a song like “Obama Milli Remix” up helps to get my songs out there a bit more than other artist who don’t have a hit song, but I still need to create NEW content with themes and titles that will draw people to want to preview and buy them.  For example, I think the appeal of a song/title like “Bust My G.A.T.” is that when people see the title they are already intrigued.  They know I’m not a gangster rapper, yet I have a title that makes people think I’m trying to be.  Then, when they click on the preview and hear the 30-second bit, they become aware of how hilarious the song is and decide to buy it.

This is what I have to do with all the albums/songs/titles for my material.  Luckily, I got a lot of free time on my hands to write songs, and I’m already thinking of what my next moves are going to be in terms of what I’ll be releasing later this year.  I’ll keep you all posted as my moves become more concrete, but my goal is to have at least 50 songs total on iTunes by December.

Wow, that’s a LOT of songs… I’d better start writing!

-A.P.T.

