Long time fans of mine (i.e. those whose radar I’ve been on since I started this site in 2008) may notice something about my recently released “new” albums: that the majority of the songs on those albums aren’t actually “new” songs, but rather re-releases of songs I put on albums first released during my “One-song-a-week” project.

Given that I’m always coming up with new songs, why would I decide to re-release songs I already put out for people to purchase?

1. QUALITY UPGRADE

When I first recorded some of those songs, I didn’t have anywhere near the equipment I had now.  I had a low-budget mic as opposed to a studio mic; my mixing equipment wasn’t the best (meaning sometimes my vocals and/or beats didn’t sound quite the way I wanted them to); and the atmosphere I recorded in (a studio apartment with neighbors who were sensitive to hearing too much noise) wasn’t as recording-friendly as the places I moved afterward.  This meant I wasn’t able to always record with a louder voice or in as many takes as I needed to.

2. “…WHADDAYA MEAN I CAN POST SONGS UP ON iTUNES!?”

I didn’t figure out how to post my albums/songs up on iTunes until late in the “Obama Milli Remix’s” popularity.  Therefore, my first two albums – “The A.P.T. LP” and “The Great Black Hope” – wasn’t known about by that many people.  The service I was using to sell my songs – Payloadz.com – was an okay service, but it didn’t (and still doesn’t) have nearly as much promotional power as iTunes did, so a lot of those songs either went unnoticed or unpurchased.

3. MOST OF THE SONGS ARE STILL RELEVANT

When creating most of my songs, I try not to include too many “current” references (unless it’s a song involving a cultural event or phenomenon, like “Kate Gosselin is a Bitch” or “The KKK-ramer Song”).  This means I can re-record songs for newer albums and they won’t seem like dated ideas.

4. PEOPLE STILL ASK TO PURCHASE MY OLDER SONGS

Just last week I had someone ask me where they could buy “The KKK-ramer Song,” which has been out for almost 3 years.  As you can see, people are still clamoring for some of my older songs, especially now that I’ve taken them down.

Will I continue to re-release my older songs? Well, I only have a few more left that I can re-record. But, while my hard core fans may have heard and bought those songs, the reality is there are plenty more people who have NOT, so I’m sure I’ll re-record some of those songs and put them together with some new stuff for my next album (which will probably come out near the end of this year).  I’m just happy I have the equipment to make those songs sound better, ’cause I really hate listening to good songs with bad mixing!

-A.P.T.

