Perhaps you’ve seen my most recent flier:

That’s right – I’m having an ALBUM RELEASE PARTY in Hollywood this week.

In looking at the past two years of my life, I’ve managed to achieve quite a lot on my own.  Care for a short list?

  • I got a song on radio
  • I got paid for a beat/song, which helped me move to Cali
  • I produced, starred in, directed and edited over 70 music videos for myself (and a couple for others)
  • I released not one, but TWO albums online (“Attack of the Obama Milli Remix Guy” and “The Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back!”), both of which are currently making me money
  • I collaborated with a radio station crew to promote shirts that I’m now actively selling
  • And – of course – I have an ALBUM RELEASE PARTY

Despite all these wonderful things, I’m still not quite at the level I’d like to be.

My main problem? I really, REALLY don’t like talking to people.  I hate trying to negotiate deals with people, or trying to talk to people about my stuff and why they should allow me to work with them in some capacity (i.e. perform at their venue, work with their artist, sell them my beats, etc.).

What I’d really, REALLY like, is to be able to get a manager or agent to do all that stuff for me.

Up to this point, though, I haven’t been able to snag one.  Which is mind-boggling to me, considering the things I just listed above.  There are artists that haven’t even accomplished a FRACTION of the stuff I’ve done by myself, yet they somehow find people to be their manager/agent.

The irony of the situation is, in order for me to find someone to talk out deals for me, I have to find someone first and then talk to them about myself.  Which is what I’m trying to hire someone to do for me in the first place!

At this point, I don’t know what I’d have to show someone to prove to them that I’d be worth their time.  I make great songs, I have videos on YouTube receiving tens of thousands of hits, I’ve sold over 2500 songs in the last 6 months alone… what else do people need to see in order to have a sit-down with me and agree to manage me???

Now, some might read this and say, “But A.P.T., if you’re already doing this stuff by yourself, and succeeding at it, why would you even want an agent or manager?”

Why? Because, realistically, it’d be easier for me to do things like write songs and work on performances if I didn’t have to also focus my energy on negotiating performance venues or concert monies.  And, it’d be easier for me to get my songs/beats to people by word of mouth from someone already respected in the field, as opposed to how it is now when I try to submit my stuff and get looked over because I’m not as well known as, say, an Eminem or Lil’ Wayne.

I say all that to say, I hope that, someday soon, I’ll be able to get a manager or agent to help me out.  Until then, I’ll just keep chuggin’ along while doin’ it all myself… ugh…

-A.P.T.

