Now that the creating of my album is winding down, I’m starting to think of other ways I can make money.

A wise man once said, “The best way to become rich is to figure out a way you can help a large group of people, then charge them for it.”  In other words, the more people you can help out, the more money you are apt to make.

Why, you ask?

Eh, who really knows.  I think it has something to do with the fact that as you help more people, they start asking for more ways you can help them, and are usually willing to GIVE you money for doing so.

I’ve experienced this myself before.  Most recently, I agreed to help some colleges of mine advertise their “No U Aint” t-shirts by making a song/anthem to the slogan so that they could make some money.  Granted, by making the song I figured I’d be able to make money off the sales of it, but I wasn’t in any way looking to profit off the shirt sales. Despite this fact, they said I’d receive a profit off every shirt I helped sell.

Ultimately, it all goes back to the law of reciprocity: if you do something good for someone, they will usually want to do good to you so things will be balanced.

With all that said, I’ve been thinking about what kind of blog I could create that would (a) give people a positive outlook for their day, and (b) become popular enough to get me internet attention from publishers so I could make some money selling books.  I’ve seen a couple of people become successful doing this (i.e. “Stuff White People Like” and “1000 Awesome Things”), so I know it’s possible.  I actually had a blog a couple years ago that I did this with called “Why I’m NEVER Having Kids,” but it’s kinda hard to think of reasons I don’t like kids on a daily basis, especially seeing as I do my best to stay away from them.

So, I’ll have to think of some other idea that I can blog about and get rich off of.  I know I definitely want it to be beneficial to people, but it also has to be something that has a catchy title, will make people want to pass it on to others, and is not so “me” focused like this blog is (which, of course, it has to be since it’s all about self-promotion).

In the meantime, though, the album – “The Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back!” – comes out June 8th!

-A.P.T.

