It’s 12:44 A.M. I’m at my Mom’s apartment in VA, and – after having watched the series finale of “24” and catching up on “The Simpsons” and “How I Met Your Mother” episodes I missed – I find myself here, at my Mom’s computer, thinking about my music, and my life in general.

Being back in the state I grew up in for nearly 19 years has given me time to reflect.  I’ve gotten the chance to be around family members I haven’t seen in a while, as well as old friends, some of whom I hadn’t seen or talked to in years yet manage to still have a GREAT repoire with.

Sometimes it’s just nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles – and life in general – and get back to the roots of where I’m from.  Being in this environment reminds me of just how great of a person I am.  I don’t say that trying to be egotistical; it’s just that, what with all the things I’m striving to become, be it successful in a certain profession, a potential dating partner, etc., it can be easy to feel the need to change the person I truly feel I am, and start doing things that the “real” me would not really do. 

Being back home, it has reminded me of something that may have been alluding me for a while: I’m actually great the way I am.  I’ve got family who love me how I am, and friends who know how loyal and friendly I can be.  I don’t have to try to impress them (nor they me), and our history is such that, even on an off day, they know that I am still a great person.

So, what does any of this have to do with how I make music? Eh, not much – I just felt like typing all that out :O)

But in reference to the title of this blog: one of my character traits, unfortunately, is that it’s not easy for me to interject my opinion into certain types of conversations.  I don’t like causing conflict, and I hate trying to interrupt someone when they’re speaking.  This is especially true when I get into groups of 3 or more people: if there are one or two people dominating the conversation, I end up positioning myself as “the listener” of the group, only interjecting my thoughts when there’s a lull or break in the conversation.

I also have a bad habit of talking too fast.  I think part of this, honestly, stems from the previous paragraph. Because people in groups are often talking over each other (i.e. jockying for position of “the next person to say something”), I found myself saying things rather fast when I DID get a chance to talk, if only so my entire thought/opinion could be heard.  Which is ironic, considering that my fast-talking usually results in someone saying “huh?” and me having to repeat what I just said at a much slower rate. 😦

Once I got into music, however, I discovered two things:

1. Creating a song allowed me to get a full thought/opinion out without interruption – and people would pay attention.  Most songs are 32 to 48 bars, plus 4 to 8 bar choruses.  That’s up to 56 sentences where people would hear what I had to say, be it important, silly, sarcastic, or a combination of all three!

2. Putting words together rhythmically actually made it more comfortable for me to form my words at a SLOWER pace.   I think it has to do with that whole “left brain/right brain” thing, but whatever.  The point is, saying my sentences in song form allowed me to get my thoughts out at a pace that people could actually catch the FIRST time (although repeated listens are always encouraged).

So yeah, there are a whole bunch of other reasons why I make music: for the money, to provoke controversy, because I’m bored at times, etc.; but the two reasons above – wanting my opinions out there and wanting those opinions to be understood – are the main reasons. 

Oh, and to be entertaining, too – if I’m gonna make music, it’s gotta be to entertain!

That’s all from me – remember: new album, “The Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back” drops on June 8th!

-A.P.T.

