Ah yes, back to the old stomping grounds!

I haven’t blogged on this site since November of last year.  A lot has changed since then, but the one thing that’s been constant is this: I have not stopped making music!

I will be opening up a new site for my music soon – in the meantime, though, I figured it would be a good idea to post up some of the videos I’ve made between… well, between the last video I posted and the most recent one.  So, here goes!

Video #1: No Memories

Mini Song/Video Insight:

I found the beat online, and thought up a song about losing past loves.  As time goes on, sometimes the memories we have with a person we date fade, and I wanted to express that in song form.  I didn’t want to do an intricate video for it, so I just sat on my bed.  Actually, most of the videos I made after my big “One-Song-a-Week” video project were made kinda lazily.  I would record the songs and want to just post them up right away, so most of them were made with me sitting on my bed and pointing my MAC camera at myself.

Video #2: The Maia Campbell Song (Maia, We Love You!)

Mini Song/Video Insight:

Another video where I simply sat on my bed, mixed in with photos and video footage of Maia Campbell (former star of TV’s “In The House”)going off on some dude while sitting in the passenger seat of a car eating cheetos.  This incident occurred back in September, and once I saw the footage of her being all cracked out, I just HAD to make a song about her.  Hopefully it helped her get the help she needed!

Video #3: Kate Gosselin is a Bitch

Mini Song/Video Insight:

Kate Gosselin, former star of TLC show “Jon and Kate Plus 8,” divorced from her husband in June of last year.  At the time, Jon was being perceived as the “bad boy” in the relationship, i.e. the one at fault.  Yet, when I saw the show, I clearly remembered Kate Gosselin being the one who was belittling and demasculating her husband.  So, I wrote a song in defense of him about how much of a you-know-what Kate really is.

Amazingly, this video got a LOT of views when I first posted it up, yet many people thought I was crazy for suggesting that Kate was in the wrong.  Then, a funny thing happen: she became a contestant on ABC’s “Dancing With The Stars,” and, during the second show, they showed footage of her being argumentative with her dance instructor.  So, I decided to re-make the video with added scenes from the ABC footage.  And now, it’s getting more views again – thanks, Kate!

Video #4: Imma Let You Finish (feat. Kanye West)

Mini Song/Video Insight:

At the MTV Video Music awards in September 2009, Taylor Swift won a trophy for best female artist.  As she was making her acceptance speech, though, a drunk Kanye West got on stage and said his now infamous speech – “Yo, Taylor – I, I’m real happy for you, and Imma let you finish… but Beyonce had one of the greatest videos of all time.  Of ALL TIME!!”

As soon as I saw the clip online, I KNEW I had to make a song using some part of the rant.  The cleanest audio from the rant was the part where he said “Imma let you finish,” so that’s what I went with.  I decided to make a song where a hater is trying to get at me, but before he can finish I’m explaining to him why I’m already so great.

As for the video, I’m not even in it!  Within 24 hours of the incident, people were posting up pics of Kanye in other situations interrupting proceedings with funny sayings.  I found a bunch of these pics online, strung them together, and pasted the song under them.  38,000+ views later, it’s still a pretty popular video 🙂

Video #5: In The Corner (I Got Your Girl) (feat. Michael Jackson)

Mini Song/Video Insight:

After Michael Jackson died last year, I was planning on putting together a mixtape featuring samples from some of his less-sampled songs.  One of them was this one, “In The Corner (I Got Your Girl),” which re-loops the beat from his “Superfly Sister” song off the “Blood on the Dancefloor” album.  I kept having the chorus to the song ring over and over again, and thought this would be the perfect beat to use for it.

As for the video: I was walking home from one of my friend’s parties at their clothing store, and came upon a group of guys dancing on the sidewalk. I had my camera on me, so I took it out and taped them dancing for 10 minutes.  When I got home, I decided to use the footage as the video for this song.

Video #6: U Can’t Get Her Back (feat. Non Juan)

Mini Song/Video Insight:

In addition to making my own songs, I also have a website, http://www.NonJuan.com, where I make songs and videos for my character, Non Juan.  This is one of the songs/videos I made for that project, “U Can’t Get Her Back.”  The song is used as a note for guys about trying to get back with an ex-girlfriend – namely, that it shouldn’t be done.

All of the parts involving Non Juan were shot using a green-screen, with backgrounds added in later.  As for my parts of the video, I shot it around my new apartment, mostly in my bathroom and my bedroom (which are conveniently located next to each other).  The video also features my good friend Tamika, who acted as my ex-girlfriend in the video.  It’s funny, hilarious, and downright enjoyable to watch!

So, that’s it in terms of my recent videos.  Right now I’m working on some new songs for a new album; in the meantime, I have an album on iTunes right now – “Attack of the Obama Milli Remix Guy!” – which you can purchase on iTunes either as a whole album or by individual tracks, at the following address: http://www.tinyurl.com/obamamilliremix

Talk to y’all soon!

-A.P.T.

