Greetings again, everybody!

Well, it looks like this “One-Song-a-Week” project is coming to a close very soon.  I only have ONE more video to film and I will have put out 52 videos in 50 weeks.  (Of course, given how much of a stickler I am for actually following through on a concept, I’ll probably do 2 bonus videos, but they won’t be nearly as good).

Me, being the nostalgic person I am, decided to take a look back at the entries I’ve done on this site over the past year.  In doing so, I came across one of my very first entries called “UPDATE: Music + Where I’m At Now,” where I talked about my then “current” status of things in the hopes of comparing it to where I’d be a year from then.

I’m SO glad I did that!

In looking at my now “current” status, things have improved greatly for me, and I’m glad I’m able to have a comparison to where I once was.  For those of you curious as to what type of changes have occurred, what follows is a “back then/right now” comparison.  Check it out:

MY LIFE “BACK THEN” (As typed by “Previous Me”, Circa May/June 2008):

* I live in Atlanta, GA.

* I work at a job that I loathe. Okay, I don’t really loathe it – I loathe having a job in the first place because it makes me feel like a slave to a schedule and payment plan. I’d rather be making money via my creativity.

* I have no girlfriend. I have girls I date, but I haven’t really found “the One” yet.

* My income for the moment: I have enough money coming in to pay my 3 bills – apartment, phone, internet/cable – and to finance my progressive steps towards my dream.

* My current recording “studio” consist of: my Studio apartment, my bootleg Fruity Loops program, my laptop, a $200 H2 Zoom studio microphone, and a set of studio headphones I bought from a guy off Craig’s List. Very nice sound, too!

MY LIFE “RIGHT NOW” (As typed by “Current Me,” Circa April/May 2009):

*I live in Van Nuys, CA.

*I work from home, which I LOVE.  The fact that I don’t have to deal with other people on a regular basis is GREAT, and I’m making money via my creativity.

*I had a girl I was dating when I moved to D.C., but she’s in law school there, and now I’m over here.  I miss her everyday, and always look forward to seeing her when I get the chance!

*My income for the moment is actually less than what I was making as a server.  However, since I work at home, there’s no commute money to pay, no clothes to buy for work, no gas money.  My soon-to-be future income, though, will be GREAT.

*My current recording “studio” consist of: my 2 bedroom apartment (I have a roommate, but he’s gone most of the day); my Magix Studio 14 program (on my PC), my bootleg Fruity Loops program (on my PC – still good for making beats!), my laptop, my iMac Computer, the Garageband Sound Studio (on my iMac), my C-Media USB Microphone (i.e. professional studio quality mic)… and a set of headphones I bought from a guy off Craig’s List back in 2007 that I managed NOT to lose.  Still has nice sound, too!

*Oh yeah – I still use my Kodak 6.1 megapixel camera for most of my filming, but my iMac also has a built in HD camera which I’ve used quite a few times.  It’s nice to have options, people!

And that’s pretty much it!  All in all, this experiment has definitely exceeded my expectations, but I’ll talk more about that once I’ve posted up my final video.  See ya on Sunday!

-A.P.T.

