This week’s video (if you can call it that) is for the song “Ambition (Remix)” off “The Great Black Hope” album!

AVAILABLE ON “THE GREAT BLACK HOPE” ALBUM – Click HERE for download info!

INSIGHT INTO A SONG:

There’s really not too much insight into how this song came about.  These two guys, whose performance names are Z-man and T-Bone, wrote me and asked if I’d be willing to do a song with them.  They told me to check out their music page and listen to their songs; if I heard one I liked, I could message them back and request the beat and song so I could jump on the song.

When I checked out their page, the first song I heard was a track called “Ambition.”  I liked the lyrics to the song and the concept – they were talking about making it in the music biz despite all odds since they had the drive – and, since the title of my album was called “The Great Black Hope,” I figured it would be a perfect fit.

On my end, I kept their lyrics in the first two verses, then placed my verse at the end.  It actually didn’t take me long at all to think up the words making up my 16 bars.  I just talked about the stuff I had gone through over the years while trying to get on, all the way up to the “Obama Milli” song, which, against all odds, was played worldwide.  Thus, my story shows off how success IS possible if your ambition is strong enough and you don’t give up.

Some Interesting Song Insights:

1. At the end of the song, I was going to mention the group’s myspace name… but it was too long, and at the time I was going to say it, I couldn’t pronounce it.  So, I did like I said in the song: I put them in my Top 8 so people who hear the song can just go to my page and click on their picture!

2. When I got the track, the original one didn’t sound mastered properly.  Luckily, I have a program that allows me to tweak sounds and make things sound better.  On their page, they have the original “Ambition” posted as well as the one I did, and the clarity and spiffiness of the sound is very apparent.

3. My favorite line is one people probably won’t even get.  It’s the part where I say “Philip Banks security threw me out on the lawn (AAAAAAA!)” On the show “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air,” Will’s friend Jazzy Jeff was always getting thrown out of the house by Philip Banks.  Hopefully that reference isn’t too “Old School!”

INSIGHT INTO A MUSIC VIDEO:

Actually, for this week it’s more like “Insight into an unmade video!”

After 41 videos, it’s starting to get hard to think up ideas for videos all the time within the given time frame of a week.  Especially when most of those videos involve me and only me.

This particular week was made more difficult by the fact that I had other things to do in terms of other sites I’m setting up.  In addition, the time I would have spent editing today was spent doing an interview for a TV show pilot…

But realistically, I hate excuses, and I’m sure I could have filmed a video earlier in the week and edited it.  I should be more prepared and stop doing things last minute, especially now that I’m starting to gain some momentum out here in Holly-weird…

With that said, though, I couldn’t put up nothing at all, as the commitment was to do a video each week for a year.  (Technically, I could take a two-week break, as there were two weeks when I did two videos and am ahead a bit).  I wanted to post up a song that I didn’t have too much of an idea for a video for, yet was still good enough to warrant posting up.

Then I remembered the “Ambition” song I did.  I had guest rappers on the song, and they live in a different state.  Therefore, I couldn’t have them in the video, and I couldn’t think of a “video” video I could do to it.  So, I figured I’d post it up.  

BUT…

I didn’t want to just post up a blank screen.  So, I filmed the footage of the tape recorded “Family Guy” used this week when they went all postal on Christian Bale’s ass by re-using his rant.  Seemed like a good thing to use when just playing a song!

Some Interesting Video Tidbits:

1. I was actually going to use another song this week, and use the Christian Bale rant in-between the song.  But honestly, it would have stretched the video out to almost 7 minutes, the song wouldn’t have been continuous, and I would have ended up filming another video for it anyway.  Besides, I HAVE an idea for that particular song, so I’ll be doing THAT one next week.

2. Estimated edit time: ha! Barely under an hour.  But again, it’s not really a “video” video!

That’s all for now!  Only 10 (real) videos left to go – see ya next week!

-A.P.T.

