People are often amazed that I have so much drive, energy, and focus to do all the various projects that I do.  I had two different phone conversations yesterday with a close friend and a family member of mine, and they both expressed being inspired by my ability to do what I wanted to do and go for my dream, etc.

But, to be honest with you, it’s really not that amazing to me. 

The reason I do all these things is two-fold: (a) because I don’t like to spend money on dumb stuff, which means I stay home a lot, and (b) because I get BORED easily.  And when I get bored, I think of things to do so I won’t be bored.

Take, for example, this website.  This whole “One-Song-a-Week” thing came about because I was in Atlanta, and when I wasn’t working, I was at my apartment, bored, with no one to hang out with or talk to.  So, I said: “As long as I’m here, I might as well figure out a way to promote my music.” BAM! Now I make videos once a week so I’ll have something to do while promoting my songs to the mass public.

Another example: I wrote a book.  Actually, I’ve written a book and am working on the next one as we speak.  How did I find time to write 2 books? 

Well, for the first one, I was staying at home during summer break from school and – when I wasn’t visiting friends or playing one of my video games – I was BORED.  So, during my bored times, I’d type up chapters for a book.  1 month later, I had a first draft for a book done.  As for the second book, it started as a blog site, and now – some 8 months later – I have enough material for another book.

So, you see, people, my various projects and successes aren’t usually the result of some grandioso plan.  They’re usually just the result of me going: “I’m BORED – as long as I have some down time, what could I create that might get me some money so I can afford to do stuff that won’t have me feeling so bored?!?”

With all that said: you’re probably wondering what any of that has to do with the title of this blog? 

I moved to the west coast, but right now my body is still on east coast time.  This means I fall asleep at around 9:30 PM Pacific Standard Time  (12:30 AM EST) and wake up around 5:00 AM PST (8:00 AM EST).  The sun rises over here at 6:45 AM, and doesn’t set until 5:30 PM.  This means that, for almost 12 hours of the day, I have to find stuff to do.

I’m already making videos and new songs, but I’ve also decided to make an instrumental/beat a day.  Why, you ask? If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the last year, it’s that you (a) never know who’s watching you, and (b) never know when an opportunity may come along for something big.  In either case, I feel it’s a good idea to always be prepared.

I’m in California, the land of music, TV, film, theatre, and other art forms – most of which usually incorporate songs into their projects.  As of right now, I’ve already got at least 20 instrumentals that could be used for any one of those things; however, I figure the more beats I make, the more I’ll be able to choose from if someone comes along and says, “Hey, do you have any beats I could use for [insert name of big-paying project]?”

And – since I don’t really do much during the day right now except stay in the apartment or walk around the neighborhood – I get bored very easily.  So, while I’m bored, why not make ONE beat a day and build up a catalogue of music to shop around to others?

And again, this isn’t necessarily because I’m such a genius or am all that smart.  I mean, I’m smart, but being successful isn’t about being the smartest person in the room – it’s about being the most READY person in the room when an opportunity arises.  I’m not doing anything that someone else couldn’t do – even YOU!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT

Soundclick: www.soundclick.com/APT

