First things first:  HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I LOVE when the first day of the year rolls around.  Since my birthday is on the 7th day of the new year (January 7, people!), I always feel like I get to do a proper re-setting of goals for the new year and focus on them for a collective 12-month period.  I’ve already made my goals for this year (see the blog before this), and I’m already working on getting them done.

As for my goal from last year, it’s still on-going.  I started this One-Song-a-Week site back in May 2008, and dedicated myself to posting up at least ONE music video every Sunday for a whole year.  That means, no matter what I have going on in my life, I still have to post a video up every week.

And man, oh man, have I been tested.

There have been some weeks where I couldn’t think of a video until the absolute last minute.  Other times I had various things going on – moving to a different city, work scheduling (I had to quit my most recent job just so I’d have time to edit the video), getting evicted (thanks a LOT, D.C. landlord), holidays, parties – that almost caused me to either not film a video or miss my deadline. 

And, of course, there were computer problems (my system has almost crashed a few times), camera loading problems (where the footage no longer would download into a Windows Media file), and internet problems (where I’d have to actually find a different place to load up a video when whatever one I was trying to use wasn’t working).

Yet, amazingly, I’ve managed to post up a video every single Sunday (and, in the case of video #15, “Shine 4 Obama,” Thursday) and have yet to not do so.  I came thiiiiiiis close to missing it with the video for “What We Do,” but still managed to get it posted by 11:55 PM!

You may ask yourself, “Geez, A.P.T., what’s with the craziness of having to put up a video EVERY Sunday, EXACTLY on Sunday? It’s not like anyone really cares?!?”

And to that, I’d say: you have NO idea how wrong you are.

But I’ll answer this question by first explaining this week’s video.  Up until today I had NO idea what the video was going to be.  Then, I had a fan write me and request I make a video for one of the songs off “The O-Bama Mixtape” that I hadn’t made one for yet.  After thinking about it for a day, I was able to come up with an idea for that song, and it will be this Sunday’s video.

However, had I not been dilligent in posting up a video every SUNDAY, this fan might not have even known when or if I was posting up any more videos beyond “O-bama O-bama.”  And had I not been advertising my mixtapes on these videos, he wouldn’t have downloaded it and become a fan of the song he requested a video for.

More importantly, though, keeping a promise to one’s self is proof that they can also keep their promise to others.  If, at the end of this thing, I’m able to go into an editing job or directing firm and say, “I made 52 videos for a year, and delivered them on the same day each week continuously,” it shows a dedication to doing something that few people are able to actually demonstrate.

The point is, when you commit yourself to doing something, it’s easy to bail out.  Heck, there have been plenty of times where I was like, “Maybe I should take a break for a week or two.” But since I made the proclamation of doing a video every week, I plan to keep filming them until #52 is done!

That’s all for now – see ya on Sunday!

-A.P.T.

