Another week, another video in the can…

That’s 33 videos so far, and only 19 more to go.  Yesterday’s video, “Hooptie,” was extra special because, in order to have the 9 hours needed for me to edit it, I decided not to go into work!

That’s right – I quit my job today! (Well, yesterday – but the word “today” sounds better in the title.)

Honestly… I just couldn’t do it anymore.  I mean, physically, I could do the job… but the last time I worked, one of the managers was acting like a jerk and treating me with disrespect.  And people, I’ll be turning 27 next week – at this age, I don’t feel I have to take that kind of crap from anyone, ESPECIALLY some manager who’s in constant PMS mode and wants to take it out on people at any given whim.

It’s funny – I called my Mom yesterday and told her about me not showing up to work.  At this point, she doesn’t ever say “shame on you” or “how could you” since I’m a grown man.  Still, there was a slight pause of “oh… okay.”  I knew she didn’t approve.

But I didn’t feel like I had a choice.  One, I committed to doing this “one song/one video a week” think WAAAAY before I got the job.  And two, I didn’t feel any passion in what I was doing. I was more excited about finishing up my video and putting it on YouTube to get a few hundred views than I was about earning a few bucks doing something where I’d be miserable the whole time.

And three – quite honestly, life is too short to be doing something you don’t want to do.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, people will give you crap about “well, you may not like doing such-and-such, but you gotta do crap sometimes to support yourself until you get to where you want to be!”  My question is, at what point are you able to start working towards where you want to be?!?

I’ll be 27 on January 7th, but I’m already looking at the next big age milestone: the big 3-0.  It’s only 3 years away, and I always said that I wanted to have enough money in the bank by then to (a) retire comfortably, and (b) do whatever the heck I want to do.

I guess that’s why I’ve been so rebellious lately – getting fired from my last job, then walking away from this one.  Okay, for ME it’s rebellious – I tend to be the responsible one who does stuff by the book.  Now, I look at my life and I say, “I’ve BEEN following the book, and the times I was most successful was when I was doing what I REALLY wanted to do, not what I thought I should be doing or what others think I should be doing.”

This move to California should be good for me.  As such, I don’t have a job out there yet, and, in my mind, I keep telling myself, “as soon as you touch ground in Burbank, you have to start looking for a j-o-b (which, in case you haven’t heard me say it before, is short for “Just. Obey. Bitch.”).” 

At the same time, there’s another part of me that no longer wants to have a job ever again.  Actually, my entire BEING says i don’t want to have another job ever again.  At least not one that feels like a job.  Making songs isn’t a job to me.  Making videos isn’t a job to me, despite the long hours of editing.  Writing books isn’t a job for me.  And I’m learning how I can make money off all of these things – so, why get a regular job, then?

I guess what I’m saying is, I know what I want to do when I get to California – the only matter now is actually getting it DONE.  I have no idea how that will happen – but for me, that’s usually the best part.  That’s about the time that God intervenes and figures out a way to make it happen, so I try not to worry about it too much.

That’s all for now.  Tomorrow, I’ll be doing my year of the end “so, how’d I do” summary, so stay tuned!

-A.P.T.

E-Mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT

Soundclick: www.soundclick.com/APT

