This week’s music video is for the song, “You’re Outta Luck,” appearing on my upcoming NEW album (out January 7th, 2009)!

INSIGHT INTO A SONG:

A lot of times when I write songs, I write them with the intent of making them the opposite of what is currently out on radio.

For “You’re Outta Luck,“ I knew I wanted to write a song where a guy – me – was hitting on a girl, but I didn’t want to make it the traditional rap guy/girl song where the guy is always bragging about what he can buy the girl, where he can take the girl, and how extravagant her lifestyle will now be as a result of dating him.

Instead, I wanted to write a song closer to my reality, only make it funny. I wrote this song last year, and at the time, there were a lot of things I didn’t have, and therefore couldn’t realistically use to pick up a girl. No expensive car, no meals at the most expensive place in town, and definitely no huge shopping sprees.

I decided to write about things I thought would be funny for a guy to try and use when picking up a girl: picking her up on his bicycle, obtaining flowers for her in a very inappropriate place, and taking her for a dinner out at a fast food place.

I can’t remember if I had the beat for this song first or the words itself. What I do remember is, I made the beat as simplistic as possible, and the words just seemed to match up with the beat. It’s mostly drums, mixed in with some cool synth sounds and a chorus that includes a high-rise beat. As for the words to the chorus… well, you’ll just have to hear it for yourself!

Incidentally, this is one of the first songs I recorded with my H2 ZOOM microphone. I think I had just gotten it a couple of weeks beforehand, and, in the course of testing out its recording abilities on my laptop, I recorded this song.

Some Interesting Song Tidbits:

1. I recorded the song using my “low-tone, sexy voice.” I always recorded songs in a regular tone, but that was only because, up to that point, none of the mics I used were powerful enough to pick up my voice when I talked low. With this mic, I wanted to see if it could actually pick it up – and it did! Plus, I figured it would be a good way to pay homage to LL Cool J, who is notorious for doing these types of songs.

2. The original second part of the chorus started out with me saying, “But I’m broke as f–k.” However, since I didn’t cuss in the rest of the song, I decided to change it to “But I’m broke as what?” If there’s one thing I learned from the “Obama Obama” song, it’s that you NEVER know when a song will be good enough to be played on radio, and, since I’m not yet signed, I didn’t want anything to deter radio programmers from playing it, especially if they didn’t feel like editing the song themselves!

3. My favorite line in the song… actually, my favorite stanza is the first 4 lines of the second verse, where I talk about taking the girl out to dinner. It’s hilarious, to say the least!

INSIGHT INTO A VIDEO SHOOT:

Okay, so, once again, my plan was to shoot a video for one of the two songs off “The A.P.T. LP” that haven’t been shot yet. And once again, real life interfered with those plans.

I was going to shoot a video for _____ this week. However, I’m trying to start selling merchandise outside of just music on the site, and one of the things I wanted to do was wear a T-shirt in the video that I’d have available for sale. I bought the materials, and was going to do a test-run of the shirt by doing an iron press-on version.

To make a long story short: I ironed the design on the shirt, and most of it didn’t stick on. Bummer.

I thought of another video I could do instead, but my brother asked me to accompany him to a gig he was DJ-ing. And I don’t miss any opportunity to go out of town, especially when it means I might be able to get some stock footage to use for later videos!

Luckily, when this type of thing happens, I have music videos stored up that I filmed prior to starting this site. So, that’s what you get this week!

I don’t know why, but I had recorded the “You’re Outta Luck” song before my college’s Homecoming weekend, and had made a copy to put on disc so I could listen to it while driving. I borrowed my Mom’s car that weekend, and on the way back, I decided to film myself singing to the song.

I didn’t want to just put up a boring ol’ footage shot video of me driving and singing. So, I added some funky-looking effects to it, and voila – instantly cooler-looking video!

Call it vanity, but looking back, I’m glad I did it – it means I don’t have to film anything this weekend, and I still have a video to put up!

Some Interesting Video Insights:

1. I filmed it last October while driving back from Homecoming. The highway I was on was I-64 West.

2. I actually shot two versions of this video because, at the time, I was using an online program to make all my videos and didn’t know which one would better sync up with the vocals once I posted the song with the video and overdubbed it. Yes, it was a crappy program.

3. Shooting time for the video only took about 20 minutes. However, adding the effects to this thing took a LOT longer than the actual shoot!

That’s all for now – I’m out of archived videos, so you’ll see something new next week!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com
MySpace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT
Soundclick: www.soundclick.com/APT

