I have discovered a wonderful thing while living here in D.C. (or Northern VA, for those of you who like to be technical about such things): the coffee shop is an AWESOME place to meet people.

My current living location is not yet equipped with internet capabilities.  Consequently, I have to track up to my local Panera Bread everyday, where free Wireless Internet is available.

In my last few visits up here, I’ve had the pleasure of running into people who I’ve struck up conversations with.  If you know me by now, you know I don’t tend to go out of my way to introduce myself to new people… yet, somehow, the way I carry myself must be telling people: “This guy looks like he wouldn’t mind talking to me!”

A couple of days ago, I went to use the internet at PB.  During the hours of 11:30 AM to 1:30 PM, they only allow its patrons to use the internet for 30 minutes at a time (in the hopes of cutting down on internet traffic).  While I was on the ‘net, this girl came and sat down in the chair next to me.  Of course, since I didn’t know this girl, I didn’t pay any attention to her. 

At 1:20 PM, the internet cut off.  I had to wait 10 minutes for 1:30 to hit so I could get back online again, so I pulled out a book I’ve been reading called “Party of One: The Loner’s Manifesto” (an excellent read about people like me who enjoy their alone time, yet isn’t always understood by the masses).  While reading the book, the girl sitting next to me interupts and asks what my book is about.

The next thing I know, I’m involved in a 20-minute conversation with this girl who – it turns out – actually graduated from the same college (Hampton University) as me!

And today, after waiting for a wall plug to open up (so that my laptop wouldn’t die on me), I was able to sit in the same place – only this time, it was next to a girl who was there to campaign for her father for congress.  We, too, spent about 20 or 30 minutes chatting away about politics, as well as other things.

In short, the coffee shop kicks major behind in terms of meeting people, and I hope I’ll continue to come here even after I get internet in my place of residence.

As for this week’s video – I filmed it last night.  It’s a song off “The O-bama Mixtape,” and it’s the last Obama-related song I’ll be doing. EVER.  I’d like to get famous, and not just off of doing songs about a politican.  At the same time, it’s nice to know that my songs may have – hopefully – had an impact on making people want to vote for a black candidate.

That’s all for now – see ya tomorrow!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

Myspace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT

Soundclick: www.soundclick.com/APT

