I’ve been in D.C. for a week.  I still have no place to call my own, and the only place I can seem to afford is in the ghetto.  I have a job, but most of money is spent traveling around on the train during my days off so I can look at apartments.  I’ve been staying with my bro for a week, but I can’t live here and have to be out this weekend.  I have a temporary place I can stay, but it’s far from the train station, and the money I’ll spend on cabs will eat away at the money I could be saving up for my own place.

Right now, life is sucking a big fat one.

I’ve barely been here a week.  Last week I was chillin’ in my apartment in ATL.  I had enough money to get by, but no mobility.  Here, I have a bit more mobility, but it eats up the money I need to get by. Blah blah blah, complain complain complain, you get the idea.

Part of the reason I wanted to move, though, was because my life had become too routine.  Yes, its secure to get into a lifestyle where you’re doing the same thing day in and day out everyday – in my case it was “go to work, go immediately home, watch TV, create something, surf net, go to sleep, and repeat” – but it also gets BORING, and it doesn’t allow a person to grow.

So, I got up and moved. And now my life seems to be in disarray.

As much as I hate the feeling I have now – of feeling helpless at times, or not knowing what I’m going to do next – I had this same feeling when I first moved to Atlanta, and was on the verge of having to move back home.  I worked through it then, and I’ll be damned if I can’t figure out a way to get through it now.

Man, I wish I had a publicist or someone to get my stuff out.  The “Obama” song is starting to pick up steam again (thanks to all the debates and the election being less than a month away) and I STILL don’t know how to better capitalize on it.

I think this song will end up being a lesson for me about how NOT to get a buzz for a song.  I should have been charging money for the song from the beginning instead of offering it for free.  I should have placed all my contact info on the video for the song in case people in the industry wanted to contact me about performances.  I should have… well, I dunno – I never thought it would get as big as it did, and I wish my entertainment lawyer would have been more helpful.

Ah well… I don’t really like writing blogs that are depressing or pessimistic.  Complaining about life feels good at times, but it doesn’t really get you anywhere…

On the positive side: through all of this train-traveling and apartment-searching, I DID manage to film my video for this week.  It’s for one of the songs off “The A.P.T. LP” – a dance song – and the video footage I filmed for the video came about by chance.  I just happened to be in the right place at the right time, and… well, I don’t want to give too much away, except to say that I’m NOT in the video at all, nor should I be.  Yeah, that’s a pretty good teaser for now…

-A.P.T.

