This week’s video is for the song, “Where My Money At” (beat produced by Mister KA).

INSIGHT INTO A SONG:

I don’t normally do songs that could be considered “hard” or “ganster rap-ish.”  I’d like to think that my “lane” in this rap game is the funny, comical guy that can also make raps saying something while keeping the mood light.

However, if I DO decide to do a song not normally in my nature to do, I’ll only do it if (a) I can use it as a means of making a commentary about something (i.e. “Bust My G.A.T.” where I rap about shooting people as a means of showing how dumb it is for rappers to rap about guns), or (b) if it relates to something I’ve personally experienced, to the point where the emotions in the song I’m writing can come across as believable since I’ve gone through them.

And so it is with this week’s song, “Where My Money At,” a song where I’m basically out for revenge against someone for doing me wrong in one of the worst ways possible – by stealing my money.

I found the song for this beat online, and was originally going to do a song called “I’m Sorry, Mama,” where I’d rap about some of the things I did wrong as a kid (nothing big, but ALL kids do stuff to annoy their parents while growing up).  However, life often throws curve balls that make one idea turn into something else.

When I wasn’t doing music stuff, I spent a LOT of time selling stuff on eBay, and I was always looking for a wholesale source to buy goods anywhere I can.  I put an ad up on Craig’s List – in the New York City section – where I said I’d give anyone a PS3 if they could give me a legitimate source for wholesale iPhones (since, during Christmastime, I had bought other name-brand phones from people off Craig’s List and made a LOT of extra money re-selling them on eBay).

I got contacted by someone in New York who said they had a source, so I took my free plane ticket and flew out there.  He showed me the source online, and even showed me where he and some of his relatives had made a purchase for goods.  It seemed legit enough, so I gave him a PS3, flew back home, and began saving up to buy some phones from my new source.

I could type this all day long, but here’s the short version of what happened next:  I got into contact with the person, ordered a wholesale lot of iPhones, and – with the help of a college friend of mine – sent a check to the person in New York.  I figured the phones would get to me within 2 to 3 weeks.

Then 2 weeks passed.  Then a 3rd week.  Then a 4th week.  Then a 5th week.

By the 6th week, I started to get worried.  I contacted the guy and, according to him, the person he gets his phones from – in the United Kingdom! – had sent him a set of iPhone knock-offs.  The phones themselves worked, but since they were an unknown brand and were of cheaper quality, there’d be no way I’d make nearly as much money back on these phones as the Apple ones.

I asked the guy if I could just get my money back for the transaction, to which he replied that because it was a check and he had already sent the guy in the U.K. the money, the only thing he could do was send me the non-name brand phones.

I. Was. FURIOUS.

All I could think about was all the money I’d lost.  Not only that, but I also had to think about all the money my friend had contributed that HE lost.  Well, scratch that – I made him a promise prior to making the transaction that, regardless of what happened, he would, at the very least, get his original investment back.  I had to work extra shifts at my job for 3 weeks, but I made sure he got every last penny back.

Anyway… so, after I got the news about the phone, I had to go to work.  And I had my T-mobile Sidekick phone with me at the time, so I flipped to the note-taking section and just started typing out the words:

“Got a connect in New York, I sent his ass some cash/he sent me a message and the news was bad/His connect sent the product – that shit was fake? Oh great…”

From there, I started typing out a scenario with a very simple question: if I had the means to do so, how would I handle this situation?  To find out, you’ll have to hear the song!

Some Interesting Song Tidbits:

1. I curse a LOT in this song.  I don’t really like to use bad language too much when I’m making songs since (a) I know I have family members that watch my videos, and (b) I really don’t cuss all that much when I talk to people.  However, when I wrote this I was so pissed off – think about it: I not only LOST money, I had to work extra hard to earn back money for someone else, AND I wasn’t going to make any profit on the whole deal.  I think that warrants a lil’ bit of cursing!

2. My favorite line in the song: “Hit ’em with my umbrella – ella – eh/’Cause A.P.T. don’t mess with gun-play.”  Even though this could be considered one of my hard-core songs, I’m still me, and, seeing as I’ve only shot a gun at shooting ranges, I figured I wouldn’t be holding up some guy with one.  Plus, it’s hard to get on a plane with a gun these days!  However, I figured I’d have to cause harm to this guy in someway, and the umbrella idea seemed funny, plus I knew it’d be something people would sing along too, even if they didn’t remember how the rest of the song went.  Yes, I put THIS much thought into certain song lines, people!

3. The last part of the song – where I mention how I spent $5000 trying to get 3 grand back – stems from an episode of “South Park” where Stan and Kenny catch a plane/bus to Mel Gibson’s house to get back the money they spent seeing “Passion of the Christ.”  On the way home, Stan mentions that they spent more money actually trying to GET their money back than the refund itself – but at least they proved their point!

INSIGHT INTO A VIDEO SHOOT:

There’s really not too much insight.  I had gone to visit my brother up in D.C. for the weekend back in late March (and to see Stephen Colbert’s portrait in the National History Museum), and, as I was driving back early in the morning, I got bored and decided to film myself singing along to this song (because, as you can imagine, all musicians carry their latest songs on them at all times).

I posted this video on YouTube a while back prior to the start of this whole “One-Song-a-Week” thing, but it hadn’t gotten many views.  Rather than just re-post it, I decided to add a grainy-looking black-and-white effect to the film to match the mood of the song.

Some Interesting Video Shoot Tidbits:

1. You’ll notice that, as the video rolls on, the white areas of the film become more and more prominent.  When I shot this it was near dawn, and I just happen to pick the time to film this when the sun was starting to rise, thus affecting the light outside, and therefore the white in the film..

2. I still had hair in this video!  I had grown it out for 6 months, and got a hair cut shortly after this video was filmed.

3. Edit time – HA!  Barely an hour and a half.  All I had to do was add the black-and-white effect, the beginning and ending, and BOOM! Done!

That’s all for now – enjoy the video, and I’ll see you next week!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT

