Forgive me, but it’s late, I’m tired, I’m hungry, and I suddenly feel the need to vent.

So, I started this whole “One Song A Week” project in May.  So far, I’ve made 17 music videos (soon to be 18).  I’ve created and released not one, but TWO projects worth of material.  I had song number five – my Lil’ Wayne “A Milli” remake “Obama Obama” – blow up like crazy, to the point that radio DJs and other rappers were trying to create their own versions, and I was getting it played on radio stations and clubs in the U.K., Germany, and abroad.  I’ve spent countless hours racking up MySpace friends and YouTube video subscribers.

All of which begs the question: how much longer will this whole “making a living off music” thing f–kin’ take??

I mean, GEEZ – including the years leading up to this one, I’ve been going at this on and off for about 4 years now.  This is the first year that I’ve really started to make some serious headway, yet I still feel, at times, like I’m being held back.

Part of it is my own circumstance.  I don’t have a car, so I can’t go to gigs (at least not in Atlanta, where the buses stop by 12:37 AM and the trains stop at 2 AM).  I don’t know a lot of people down here, so I have no connections.  I have an entertainment lawyer who, while great at her job, doesn’t really seem interested in helping me.  Heck, I went to her office when the “Obama Obama” song was taking off to get her advice, and while the small talk we had was great, she still has yet to pass any of my stuff off to any of the big-head names she knows and regularly works with.

All of which has me asking: how much longer will all of this f–kin’ take?!?

There are other aspects of this whole situation I could bitch and complain about, but honestly, what’s the point?  All I know is, I’m still not where I want to be just yet.

At the same time, I know all of this takes patience.  At least I was able to get a song played on radio – it was one of my New Year’s resolutions for this year to make that happen, and I’m glad it did, even though it wasn’t in the way I expected.  There are bands and groups that spend DECADES trying to get that done, and it only took me 4 years.  So, in that respect, it’s all good.  

But I want to take this to the next level, people!  I hope my move to D.C. will prove to be a more fruitful experience than Atlanta has been, both musically AND personally.  I’d like to be able to have friends to actually hang out with, people to go to clubs with, and connections to people who I can network with for gigs.  I also hope to finally get a car, so that, should I decide to move again in a year (and I probably will) I’ll be able to have some road power, instead of Nike power 😦

Okay, I’m done ranting – I have a video to shoot (finally thought of an idea for this week), food to eat, and sleep to get.  Adios!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/NotoriousAPT

