Another week, another video in the can.

So far, the response to “Kick Bush” is pretty much what I expected – in the first 24 hours, the video’s already been viewed 649 times.  All of my parody songs tend to do pretty good. If I had the money to afford the publishing rights to sell those songs, I’d probably make a CD with half parodies and half real songs a la “Weird Al.”

Luckily, my “real” songs are pretty popular, too.  I made it a point to do as many song on my “The O-Bama Mixtape” where I wasn’t doing a parody so that people would get used to hearing me rap in my regular voice, with original topics, and the response to those songs has been quite phenomenal as well. 

Of course, all of these things – videos, mixtapes, websites – are basically lead-ups to the main event: my official album, which is now officially known as…

 “The A.P.T. LP!”

I was originally going to use another name, but I didn’t want to tell people for fear the idea would get stolen.  When I started talking about it on some of my youtube videos, I would always say, “the official A.P.T. album will be out Sunday, August 24!”  I kept calling it “The A.P.T. Album” so much that it started to sound like a good idea for me to use my name in the album’s title.  That way, when people are driving in the car with their friends asking, “man, this guy is good!  What CD is this??”, they can say, “It’s the A.P.T. LP, by A.P.T.!”

Smart, right?  I figure if it worked for Marshall Mathers (see: “The Slim Shady LP,” “The Marshal Mathers LP,” and “The Eminem Show”), it should work for me, too.

In creating this project, I want to make an album that is both classic and timeless.  A lot of rappers today don’t know how to make a timeless LP – and I’m not just talking about so-called “bubblegum” rappers either.  A lot of well-respected rappers (see: The Game, Eminem) have songs on their albums that keep them from being timeless.  This doesn’t mean their LPs aren’t good, it just means they throw stuff into them that aren’t relatable to people 8 to 10 years after they are first recorded.

For example: On Eminem’s song, “The Real Slim Shady,” he insulted N*Sync (no longer a group); in “I’m Back,” he gives props to Puff Daddy (now called Diddy) about dating Jennifer Lopez (now married to Mark Anthony).  Meanwhile, The Game spent 3/4 of his entire first album giving props to G-Unit (no longer part of the group), shouting out Aftermath (no longer works with them) and giving props over and over again to Dr. Dre (no longer works with him). 

Creating a classic LP means creating a work that can be heard years down the line and still seem relevant.  This is why people like Notorious BIG and Michael Jackson are still having their songs bumped by DJs at parties for the current generation of kids – the majority of their songs had timeless elements in them.

As for me, I may not be the world’s best rapper (yet – I’m always working towards it, though!), I DO know how to make songs with good concepts, catchy hooks, and, most importantly, timeless elements.  Outside of my parodies and political songs, the majority of my tunes steer clear of using elements that would quickly make the song become dated.  A few examples:

  • I don’t use figureheads’ names.  If I want to mention something wrong the government has done, I might say something like “the government messed up again” vs. “George Bush messed up again.”  Why? ‘Cause when George is no longer around, the effect of using that reference wanes.
  • I don’t shout out my record label.  Yes, me and my brother have a name for a record label, but I don’t feel the need to mention it in song because no one will know what it is should we decide to do something else and drop the label name.  Think back to all those records screaming out “No Limit” back in the day – Master P has a whole new label name now, which makes that reference irrelevant!
  • Rarely do I product place.  Why mention an iPhone in a song when it might not even be around 5 or 6 years from now?  Why mention the latest car when it will be out of date as soon as the next model hits the stores??

So what do I talk about instead?  Experiences that have been around since the beginning of time: trying to make it, the trapping that occur once you do make it, poverty, struggle, partying, sex, women, dating issues, stupidity of government… the list is endless, but they all have one thing in common: they will always be round, and each generation deals with the same issues, albeit in different ways.

Most of the songs on the album will be this way (except for “The Nigger Song” – hopefully the word “nigger” will become irrelevant one day!), and it’s going to be BANGIN’!!  I’m using some of my own beats, but I’ve also bought a few beats that I really, REALLY like, and are meant to blasts out people’s speakers!!  I got party joints (as only A.P.T. can do them – take a listen to “Shout Out 2 My Big Girl” to see what I’m talking about), as well as the usual introspective tracks, lyrical tracks…

Aww, listen to me trying to hype up my album!  I never thought I’d be doing that!  It’s really hard for me to describe just how good the album is without delving into every track, which I’ll do once it’s released.  So, for now, just know that the album is HOT, and you won’t be disappointed!

Plus, I also plan to (a) have a page where people can listen to snippets of all the songs before they decide to purchase, and (b) make videos for most of, if not all, the tracks on the album.  I figure that should help sales a bit – nothing like knowing how what you’re going to buy sounds before you make the purchase!

That’s all for right now – stay tuned for more info as it develops!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/notoriousapt

