STORY #1: Trying to get on radio

Then – Summer 2005:

I was living with my Uncle Eric and my two cousins in Lansdale, PA.  From time to time I would catch the New Jersey transit up to New York in the hopes of getting my music demo into the hands of some of NYs influential music industry people.

First stop: Hot 97, the most popular radio station in New York. The plan: to go into the station, hand off my CD of songs, and hopefully be able to get them to hear my songs, fall in love with at least one of them, and play it on their station. 

Unfortunately, I got there just as they were closing.  Still, I knew there’d be night staff DJs coming in, one of them being Funkmaster Flex.  I waited outside the building for two hours – nobody showed up!  Frustrated, I decided to take a walk around the building, then head over to the next spot (wherever that would be).  As I walked to the opposite side of the building…

…I saw Funkmaster Flex!! He just happened to be taking the trash out at the moment I walked by.  I greeted him, said I was a fan, and gave him a copy of my CD. “Just listen to the first song, please!!” I said.  He said, “Okay,” but, given that I already knew he probably got this request 10,000 times a day, I figured there was a better chance that he’d toss it in the trash as soon as I was out of his sight.

Needless to say, I wasn’t going to be getting any radio play anytime soon…

Now – Summer 2008:

I get a LOT of comments on the “Obama, Obama” video from people all across the country.  Last night, I received this comment on the wall:

“Man I have you give you your props on this song, I live in New York and just a few days I was listening to the radio ‘Hot 97.1′ when they played Lil’ Waynes “A Milli” then your song and I was like this sh*t is awesome so I came on YouTube to find the real video and here it is.  Great work!”

How ironic – I don’t even live near NYC anymore, and they play my dang song without me having to even call in the station!!

STORY #2: “You can find me in the club…”

THEN – Summer 2005:

During that same trip to NYC, I decided to stay in the city late so I could go to one of the clubs and pass my CD off to a DJ.  I forget the name of the club, but I went around 10 PM or so, and I’m sure I stood out like a sore thumb.  I was the only one there with a demo folder and a CD, but I was a man on a mission: to get my song played in a REAL club, even if the song ended up getting booed.

Got into the club, and saw the DJ booth, located up on a second floor.  There were steps that led up to the booth, but it was blocked off by security.  I asked the guard at the post if he could hand my CD off to the DJ; he politely took it up, but, once again, I figured that, despite how good I felt my songs were, the CD would just be pushed to the side, along with the hundreds of other CDs he probably got on a weekly basis.

By the end of the night, NONE of my songs had been played.  Oh well – it’s nothing personal, just business: since no one knew who I was, the DJ couldn’t risk playing one of my songs and completely stopping the party!

NOW – Summer 2008:

I don’t go out to clubs very much.  The last time I went… dang, I think it might have been New Year’s Eve/Day!  Therefore, I have NO idea what DJs are spinning these days, though I assume they must be playing a LOT of Lil’ Wayne since he’s the most popular guy at the moment.

However, just because I don’t go out to clubs doesn’t mean other people don’t.  I got an e-mail from this girl named Carly, and it said the following:

Dear APT,

I heard your Obama song in a west indian night club in Hartford CT.  The dj started with the millionaire song and mixed the obama remix in half way through.  It was the first time that I’d heard of it and it put a big smile on my face in the middle of the bar.

Carly

Man, oh man, oh man… I need to go to a club here in ATL and see if anyone’s playing my song, ’cause that’s HUGE, man!

The moral of these stories:  Um… I don’t have one.  It’s just cool to know my stuff is being played on radio AND the clubs. Woo-hoo!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com
MySpace: www.myspace.com/notoriousapt

