Hey everybody!

First thing’s first: thanks to everybody that has watched/dowloaded my newest video/song, “Obama, Obama (a Remake of Lil’ Wayne’s “A Milli”).” In just 2 days it’s gotten close to 100 views, and since the Presidential election is a mere 4-1/2 months away, I can only see the song growing in popularity.

So, it dawned on me: part of the reason I’m doing this whole project is to get people to (b) become fans of my music, and (b) request me for gigs… yet, lo and behold, I haven’t left any contact info for people to get in touch with me!!  Duh, Aaron!

If you’re reading this and would like to send me fan mail, request me for collaborations, ask about me making beats for you (I do that too – more of my own beats will be used on songs in the future), or inquire about doing a gig, here is my official email address:

aptsongs@hotmail.com

Not too hard, right??  I’ll be sure to leave this email address in all my posts from now on.

Anyway, this site has really started to take off!  Now that I’m making videos on a regular basis, it’s becoming a bit easier to think of ideas for song visuals.  I still don’t have other people to help me out yet, but I’ve thought of some good ideas involving just myself.  I like to invoke stories into most of my songs, it’s just a matter of figuring out how to represent that even if I’m talking about another person in the song.

Next week’s song is already in the can, and the visual for it is going to be easier to edit than last week’s video, which took 8 hours.  Part of the reason it took so darn long is because I had to be able to match up the vocals of the song with when I said them on screen.  You’d be amazed how long it takes to sync up song vocals with on-screen wording – even the slightest little mouth movement has to be watched to make sure it’s being done right, and even THEN you can still mess up!

For next week’s video, though, I won’t be mouthing to the camera, so it should cut the edit time in half.  The song itself is an MC song, meaning there’s not a story to it, it’s just me talking about how good I am at what I do.  The visual, however, does have a story, and it’s going to be…. well, I ain’t giving it away yet, but it’ll be pretty good!

I’m actually glad I’m doing this whole thing now, as it gives me things to do during the day when I’m not at work.  I don’t really hang out with too many people in this town, mostly because the people I know are usually too busy at their job to want to hang out, and when they do hang out they do stuff I don’t find all that fun, i.e. drinking, smoking, more drinking, more smoking, and partying at places where they can – you guessed it – drink and smoke. 

And frankly, I find none of that stuff fun.  To me, it’s just a life-waster – it’s as if the person said, “you know what?  I’m trapped in my own life and have no goals for myself, so I’m going to spend my down time doing things that will numb me of life’s pain.” 

The sad part?  These people have life goals they once aspired to, and even now they might SAY they want to do something, but, in the words of Lil Wayne (and, for the record, I can’t believe I’m actually quoting this guy), “They just talkin’ bout it.”  They don’t plan to actually follow through with their imagined goals, so they don’t try to reach them.  I’d like to think that, even if this whole plan doesn’t work out, I’ll get at least a lil’ credit for TRYING.

‘Nuff said about that – I got some other sites to attend to, more music to make, and another video to map out.  Peace!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

