This week’s song/video is called “Shout Out 2 My Big Girls (a.k.a. Big Girls Need Love, Too)!”

SEND DONATIONS – Click HERE For More Info!

INSIGHT INTO A SONG:

5 years ago, when 50 Cent burst onto the music scene and became really popular, him and Lil’ Kim had this song out called “Magic Stick.”  I wanted to write a parody of the song (since I’ve always been a HUGE Weird Al Yankovic fan), and thought it would be funny to do a song called “Fattest Chick” (with the chorus being, “I date the fattest chick/take her out to eat once, she wants to eat twice…” and so on).

I took the 50 cent beat and made a freestyle to it – in fact, the entire first verse of this song is that freestyle verbatim, except for the last line – and was going to make a whole song out of it… but the CD I recorded the beat on started skipping, and I couldn’t find where I got the beat from, so I said “Screw it” and saved the freestyle as is, without any plans to release it.

Fast-forward 5 years (wow, that’s a LONG time):

In the course of my dating life, I’ve noticed that the majority of the girls I end up dating or having crushes on were those with a lil’ meat on the bones.  I don’t know why this is, but skinny girls, while attractive, are nothing in comparison to a big girl that knows how to accessories properly – and, they can usually cook, and I can eat a LOT, thanks to my high metabolism.

So, when I started making songs again, I decided to see if I could re-use the song I made for parody, and turn it into a REAL song.  When I was in college and went to parties, there was always a portion of the night where they would play this song called “Watch Out for the Big Girl,” and all the big girls in the club would dance to that song HARD, like it was their anthem or something!

Only problem was – those were the only words to the song!  And frankly, I found it kind of insulting – like, what, we’re supposed to watch out for her like she’s going to (a) run us over or (b) eat us??  What kind of B.S. is THAT?!?

So, I decided that I, too, wanted to make a big girls’ anthem, one that would allow me to use some humor yet also point out what I like about big girls.

Incidentally, the first line of the song – “Big girls need loooove, too/so if you’re a big girl, I loooooove you” – has been in my head for almost 6 years.  I just like the way it sounds, and encompasses what the rest of the song is about 🙂

INSIGHT INTO A VIDEO SHOOT:

This video was actually recorded prior to the start of this “One-Song-A-Week” project.  I had discovered a couple of weeks prior that I could make videos on my PC laptop via Windows Media Maker, and wanted to practice making a video I could then edit in the program.

Since I had just recorded this song, I figured I would do a video to this one.  I filmed it using my Kodak 6.1 Megapixel camera, and kept it real simple: a bunch of shots of me mouthing the words and/or dancing around in my studio apartment.  Edit in a few cool colors and transitions, along with some pics of celebrity big girls I find to be particularly attractive, and BOOM – instant video!

Also: I got the glasses from the Kanye West concert.  He came down to Atlanta on May 4th, and when I saw them, I knew I had to get them and use them at some point for a video.  Plus, they were the cheapest souveigneer available – and they were $10!

That’s all for now – see you next week!

-A.P.T.

E-mail: aptsongs@hotmail.com

